The Massachusetts Attorney General enforces the state wage and hour laws. The AG has a hotline for questions about state wage and hour laws: 617-727-3465. General information about Massachusetts law is here.
The U.S. Department of Labor enforces the Fair Labor Standards Act, the primary federal law on wages and hours: (617) 624-6700. The Dept. of Labor has general information about wages and hours under federal law.
These laws can be complicated—and not all workers are covered by all provisions. You should contact the appropriate agencies and/or an employment attorney to learn more.
For more information on these topics--
Minimum wage: Massachusetts $14.25 ($6.15 for tipped employees) as of January 1, 2022. $15.00 ($6.75 for tipped employees) as of January 1, 2023. Federal $7.25
Under Massachusetts law, an employer can require service employees to pool their tips only with other service employees, service bartenders, or wait staff. Total proceeds of a tip or service charge contained in a bill must be remitted only to wait staff employees or service bartenders in proportion to the service provided by those employees. Under no circumstances may management employees or owners receive any portion of their employees' tips.